## Japanese and UK Government and Universities – Main Participants

## 1. Japanese Government

Mr Shinzo Abe, Prime Minister of Japan

Mr Eiichi Hasegawa, Special Advisor to the Prime Minister and Cabinet Public Relations Secretary

Mr Shinsuke Sugiyama, Deputy Minister, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Ms Kumiko Bando, Deputy Minister, Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology

# 2. The Japanese Universities

Professor Koji Murata, President, Doshisha University

Professor Susumu Yamauchi, President, Hitotsubashi University

Professor Keizo Yamaguchi, President, Hokkaido University

Professor Atsushi Seike, President, Keio University

Professor Hiroshi Matsumoto, President, Kyoto University

Professor Setsuo Arikawa, President, Kyushu University

Professor Yoshihito Watanabe, Vice President, Nagoya University

Professor Toshio Hirano, President, Osaka University

Professor Kiyofumi Kawaguchi, President, Ritsumeikan University

Professor Susumu Satomi, President, Tohoku University

Professor Junichi Hamada, President, University of Tokyo

Professor Yoshinao Mishima, President, Tokyo Institute of Technology

Professor Kyosuke Nagata, President, University of Tsukuba

Professor Katsuichi Uchida, Vice President, Waseda University

Professor Kunio Takeyasu, Director, JSPS London

#### 3. The UK Government

Rt Hon David Willetts MP, Minister for Universities and Science

### 4. The UK Universities

Professor Guy Orpen, Pro Vice-Chancellor for Research and Deputy Vice-Chancellor Elect, University of Bristol

Professor Sir Leszek Borysiewicz, Vice-Chancellor, University of Cambridge

Professor Chris Higgins, Vice-Chancellor and Warden, University of Durham

Professor Sir Timothy O'Shea, Principal, University of Edinburgh

Professor James Stirling, Provost, Imperial College London

Professor Joanna Newman, Vice-Principal, King's College London

Professor Peter McWilliam, Dean, Faculty of Medicine and Health, University of Leeds

Professor Samar Hasnain, Max Perutz Professor of Molecular Biophysics, University of Liverpool

Professor Stuart Corbridge, Provost and Executive Vice President, London School of Economics and Political Science

Professor Matt Lambon-Ralph, Associate Vice-President for Research, University of Manchester

Professor Ella Ritchie, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, University of Newcastle

Professor Andrew Hamilton, Vice-Chancellor, University of Oxford

Professor Sir Keith Burnett, Vice-Chancellor, University of Sheffield

Professor Michael Arthur, President and Provost, University College London

Professor Nigel Thrift, Vice-Chancellor and President, University of Warwick

Professor Brian Fulton, Academic Co-ordinator for Science, University of York

Mr Jeff Streeter, Director of the British Council in Japan

### 5. Embassy of Japan in the UK

Mr Keiichi Hayashi, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary

Mr Naoki Ito, Minister for Economic

Mr Eiji Watanabe, Counselor (Education)

Mr Atsushi Oku, First Secretary (Science and Technology)