Art & Design

Hideko Udagawa, violin and Michael Dussek, piano

27 April 2010, London

Hideko Udagawa violin
Michael Dussek piano

Schubert: Sonatina in G minor, Op.137 No.3
Richard Strauss: Sonata in E flat major, Op.18
Szymanowski: The Fountain of Arethusa Op.30 No.1
Beethoven: Sonata in C minor Op.30 No.2


The lyrical allure of Schubert’s G minor Sonatina vies with the romantic exuberance of Richard Strauss’s Sonata in the first half of this enticing recital, though, with Strauss’s allusions to Schubert and to others among his musical forerunners, the two works enjoy subtle links. In the second half, the Szymanowski and Beethoven pieces, while by chance sharing the opus number 30, could scarcely contrast more sharply with one another, “The Fountain of Arethusa” conjuring up fluid, impressionistic images of the Classical myth that inspired it, and Beethoven’s C minor onata exerting strong, sinewy passion and energy.



Ticket: £10 £15 £20 £25

DJ Scotch Egg

Tuesday 27 April 2010, 7:30pm

Cadogan Hall

Sloane Terrace (off Sloane Square), London SW1X 9DQ

Tel: 020 760201416


Lisa Peacock Concert Management Limited