Art & Design

Mayuko Katsumura at Cadogan Hall with Philharmonia Orchestra

22 April 2012, London

DJ Scotch EggCadogan Hall  22nd April 2012  19.00




Shostakovich   Violin Concerto no.1 op.77
Bartok              Concerto for Orchestra

Philharmonia Orchestra
Mayuko Katsumura   violin
Enrico Marconi  conductor


Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto No. 1 was composed during the post-war years in Soviet Russia (1947-48) but, due to severe censorship at that time, it was not performed until 1955. Op. 77, along with his Tenth Symphony, is considered to be his most major accomplishment, which adopts a four-movement symphonic structure.

Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra is a masterpiece in a league of its own. Premièred on 1st December 1944, the oeuvre is developed in five-movements. The composer named it a ‘Concerto’ (rather than a symphony) to underline the virtuosic way in which every section of the orchestra is treated, alternating their role from ‘soloist’ to ensemble in turn.


Ticket: £26 £32 £39

22 April 2012, 7pm

CADOGAN HALL, 5 Sloane Terrace London SW1X 9DQ

Tel: 020 7730 4500


Cadogan Hall