Art & Design

Sapporo Symphony Orchestra with Maestro Tadaaki Otaka and Akiko Suwanai – Benefit Concert

23 May 2011, London

The Sapporo Symphony Orchestra, supported by Askonas Holt Ltd and Southbank Centre has announced that its London concert is to be a benefit event for the victims of the devastating earthquake and tsunami that struck Japan on 11th March 2011. The entire proceeds from ticket sales will go directly to the Japanese Red Cross Society and the Japan Society Tohoku Earthquake Relief Fund.

The London concert is part of the Sapporo

Symphony Orchestra’s 50th anniversary tour under the baton of its longtime Principal Conductor Tadaaki Otaka with a programme of Takemitsu’s How Slow the Wind, Bruch’s Violin Concerto No 1 in G minor – with celebrated Japanese violinist Akiko Suwanai – and Shostakovich’s Symphony No 5 in D minor.


Tadaaki Otaka commented: ‘It was an unforeseen and terrible disaster, from which all Japanese people are working extremely hard to recover. We, the musicians, wish to turn our London appearance into a charity concert in aid of the vital relief efforts in our country. Please join us and help Japan.’


Tickets: £30 £25 £20 £15 £10 Premium seats £35

Concessions 50% off (contact ticket office for details)
23 May 2011, 7:30pm

Royal Festival Hall, Southbank Centre, Belvedere Road, London SE1 8XX

Tel: 0844 875 0073

Askonas Holt Ltd.